Skip to main content

Global Virtual Summit 2020

What Change? Whose Change?

Join us virtually for the 2020 Meridian 180 Summit!   Research has illuminated the importance of “intellectual play” for discovery and innovation—unstructured time for free-form dialogue and thought experimentation with people outside of our areas of expertise, geographies and cultures. This year’s Meridian 180 Global Summit will bring scholars and thought leaders from around the world together for open conversation and reflection on this time of dramatic change—a moment of pause amid the chaos of the moment for tuning in to new people, perspectives and ideas. There will be no long presentations or concrete answers. Instead, you will find opportunities to discover, interpret, reflect and share.

RSVP

Please RSVP here to sign up for the event.  Registration is complimentary.  If you are not yet a Meridian member but want to hear more about membership or guest participation in the 2020 Global Summit, please sign up here to receive more information.

MERIDIAN 180 GLOBAL SUMMIT AGENDA

Summit Opening Day
Friday, September 18                          12 p.m. – 2 p.m. UTC

Small Group Meetings
Week of September 21st                   90-minute small group meeting 
(exact date and time dependent on group participant availability)

Summit Sessions
Friday, October 2                                   12 p.m. – 2:00 p.m. UTC 

Saturday, October 3                             12 p.m. – 2:00 p.m. UTC 

The direction the world will take over the years ahead will depend on the frames we develop for this moment of dramatic change. Although different points of reaction, conflict, tension, imagination, innovation and critique are emerging in different parts of the world, a coherent history or narrative of the present—one that would provide direction for scholars, policymakers, or social movements—has yet to emerge.

One of Meridian 180’s longstanding strengths is what we call collaborative genius.  Together, members have been able to capture and understand critical conditions in ways that none of us could do on our own. The Summit will marshal this collaborative genius once again to understand the challenges and opportunities now facing our communities, cities and world. Summit participants across borders of country, background, discipline and language will bring their viewpoints and expertise to share and, together, we will create collective insight.

WHAT CHANGE? WHOSE CHANGE?

Around the world, people are experiencing many kinds of change and demanding others.  How do we describe and understand the many different kinds of change we are experiencing at this moment of crisis? Which changes are temporary and which are permanent?  What are the short- and long-term impacts of these changes? To whom and for whom?

HOSTS

Annelise Riles

Annelise RilesDr. Annelise Riles is Executive Director of Northwestern University’s Roberta Buffett Institute for Global Affairs, which serves as a hub of global connectivity fostering cross-sector collaboration through transnational dialogue, transnational research, and international education. Dr. Riles also serves as Associate Provost for Global Affairs at Northwestern University, founder and director of the multilingual Meridian 180 forum and is a recipient of the Humboldt Foundation’s 2018 Annelise Maier Award. Her scholarship spans a wide range from human rights to the regulation of global financial markets, and her recent publications include Financial Citizenship: Experts, Publics & The Politics of Central Banking as well as The Network Inside Out. Dr. Riles holds an AB from Princeton University’s Woodrow Wilson School of Public and International Affairs, an MSc in Social Anthropology from the London School of Economics, a JD from Harvard Law School, and a PhD in Social Anthropology from University of Cambridge. 

Kim Eric Möric

Kim Eric Möric was born in Seoul and was trained in Law in Belgium at the Free University of Brussels (ULB). He has received doctoral degree of law from University of Luxemburg where he has focused on risks and rewards in PPP contracts regarding government deficit and debt under ESA 2010. Kim Eric Möric is lecturer of Constitutional law at the Faculty of political sciences of the Free University of Brussels. He is also lecturer of Urban and Construction law at the Civil Engineering School of the Free University of Brussels.

Veronica Taylor

Veronica TaylorVeronica L. Taylor is Professor of Law and Regulation at the Australian National University School of Regulation and Global Governance (RegNet). Her work focusses on research and innovation, international development, business-government relations, public diplomacy and higher education governance in Asia and the Pacific. She is interested in the role that intermediaries play in changing the course of events.

2020 EVENT FEATURES INCLUDE:

Rich Dialogue
Space to reflect on current experiences of change and imagine future states with global colleagues from varied background, countries, and sectors.

Creative Collaboration
Opportunity to work together with small international groups to discuss and represent desires for change or barriers to change.

Meet and Greets
Make connections and get to know interesting members by participating in individual and small group meet-ups each day of the Summit.

 

Through these activities, we hope to deepen direct connections between Meridian community members, share out differences in global experiences of change, collaboratively produce a vision of the current global moment, and have a unique time to pause, reflect and grow stronger through shared experience.

SCHEDULE

Summit Opening Day
Friday, September 18                          12 p.m. – 2 p.m. UTC

Small Group Meetings
Week of September 21st                   90-minute small group meeting 
(exact date and time dependent on group participant availability)

Summit Sessions
Friday, October 2                                   12 p.m. – 2:00 p.m. UTC 

Saturday, October 3                             12 p.m. – 2:00 p.m. UTC 

*All times listed in Coordinated Universal Time with 12:00 pm UTC start time. Start times in other time zones:

Chicago and Mexico City                  7:00 a.m. CDT
Brussels and Rome                            2:00 p.m. CEST
Istanbul and Doha                              3:00 p.m. TRT and AST
Delhi                                                        5:30 p.m. IST
Hong Kong and Beijing                     8:00 p.m. HKT and CST
Seoul and Tokyo                                  9:00 p.m. KST and JST
Sydney                                                   10:00 p.m. AEST

 

View the Detailed Summit Agenda Here